2015 RITA Contest Judging

    The purpose of the RITA contest is to promote excellence in the romance genre by recognizing outstanding published romance novels and novellas.


    All entrants are required to judge the preliminary round. Others eligible to judge are authors who are PAN-eligible. The final round will be judged by PAN members. Note: Non-members may sign up to judge when they enter the contest. The contest will open for entries at 9:00 a.m. CDT on October 15, 2014.

    Sign up to Judge the 2015 RITA Contest (member link)

    Sign-up Instructions:

    • Click the "Sign up to Judge the 2015 RITA Contest" link above (make sure you're logged in to the RWA website first).
    • Complete each field on the page.
    • Judges will automatically be opted out of any categories that they enter.
    • Hit the Submit as Final button.
    • Click the Logout link located at the top right-hand section of the page.
    • A few minutes after signing up to judge, you'll receive a confirmation e-mail. If you don't receive a confirmation e-mail within a few minutes, please check your e-mail program's spam/junk folder.
    • To verify your judging selections, click the judging sign-up link above (when logged in to the RWA site) and click the Edit link to the right of the Last Update field on the Summary page. You'll be taken back to the judging sign-up page and can view your selections there.

    Contact Carol Ritter at or 832-717-5200, Ext. 127, with questions.



    Each preliminary-round entry will be scored individually on a scale of 1.0 to 10.0, with 1.0 being the lowest (poor) and 10.0 being the highest (excellent). Judges are allowed and encouraged to use decimal points (7.5, 8.8, etc.) when scoring.

    Preliminary-round scores will be determined using a trimmed mean (the highest and lowest scores will be discarded and the remaining three scores will be averaged).

    The top scoring 4% of each category’s entries (based on the number of qualified entries received) will advance to the final round, excepting that no category will have fewer than 4 finalists and no category will have more than 10 finalists. Any fraction will be rounded up to the next whole number, not to exceed 10 finalists.

    Final-round entries for the RITA contest shall be ranked from first to last place (1st, 2nd, 3rd, etc.) with the lowest score signifying the winner.