Past RWA Vivian Stephens Industry Award Recipients

  • 2019: Mark Coker, Smashwords
  • 2018: Pamela Jaffee, Avon Books
  • 2017: Tina Dick, editor in chief, Walking in the Clouds
  • 2016: Carrie Feron, HarperCollins
  • 2015: Mary-Theresa Hussey, Harlequin Books
  • 2014: Debra Dixon, BelleBooks, and Brenda Chin, ImaJin Books
  • 2013: Bette-Lee Fox, Library Journal
  • 2012: Barbara Vey, Publishers Weekly
  • 2011: award not given
  • 2010: Eileen Hutton, VP, associate publisher (retired), Brilliance Audio
  • 2009: Tracy Farrell, editor-at-large, Harlequin Enterprises
  • 2008: Sue Grimshaw, romance buyer, Borders Group
  • 2007: Linda Marrow, vice president/editorial director, Ballantine
  • 2006: Lucia Macro, executive editor, Avon Books
  • 2005: Leslie Wainger, executive editor, Harlequin Enterprises
  • 2004: Donna Hayes, publisher and CEO Harlequin Enterprises, and Isabel Swift, vice president of editorial, Harlequin Enterprises
2003: Donna Seaman, Booklist
2002: award not given
2001: Carol Stacy, Romantic Times publisher
2000: Jeff Bezos, president & CEO,
1999: award not given
1998: Daisy Maryles, executive editor, Publishers Weekly
1997: Kay Murray, attorney, Authors Guild
1996: Evan M. Fogelman, literary agent
1995: Gerald Ratcliff, bookseller
1994: Richard Curtis, literary agent
1993: Jayne Ann Krentz, author
1992: Marilyn Black, publisher, Meteor Kismet
1991: Kate Duffy, executive editor, Meteor Kismet


Historical note: Waldenbooks was awarded special recognition for contributions to the romance genre in 1990, prior to the inception of the Industry award in 1991. The award was presented to the Waldenbooks romance expert committee comprised of Jennifer McCord, Frances Perrine and Mary Grigg. Prior to 2006, the Vivian Stephens Industry Award was known as the Industry Award. The award name was changed in order to honor one of RWA's founders, Vivian Stephens.