RWA Announces 2013 Award Recipients

Romance Writers of America is proud to announce the following recipients of the 2013 RWA Awards:

2013 RWA Nora Roberts Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient

Mary Jo Putney

Mary Jo Putney is a best-selling author with more than 29 books published since 1987. Her stories are noted for their psychological depth and unusual subject matter, and Putney is a nine-time finalist for the RITA Award, has won two RITAs, and is on the RWA Honor Roll for best-selling authors.


2013 RWA Emma Merritt Award Recipient

Nancy Haddock

Nancy Haddock is the award-winning and best-selling author of La Vida Vampire, Last Vampire Standing, and Always the Vampire. A member of RWA since 1984, Haddock has been on the RWA Board of Directors and the History Committee, where she was instrumental in organizing and documenting RWA's oral and photographic history.


2013 RWA Service Award Recipients

Julie Hurwitz

An RWA member since 1988, Julie Hurwitz has been actively involved in the association at the national and chapter levels. Hurwitz served on the RWA Board of Directors as Chapter Liaison and Region 6 Director and is a current member of the PRO Steering Committee. 

Eloisa James

New York Times best-selling author Eloisa James writes historical romances for HarperCollins Publishers and has been an RWA member since 1998. An associate professor and head of the Creative Writing program at Fordham University, James lends her expertise to RWA's Academic Grant Committee. Her service to the Academic Grant Committee has helped ensure the grant's success in the academic community.

Donna MacMeans

A certified public accountant with a small tax practice, author Donna MacMeans serves on RWA's Finance Committee. MacMeans also goes above and beyond her duties on the Finance Committee and mentors chapter leaders on financial issues.

Trish Milburn

Multipublished author Trish Milburn has been a member of RWA since 1996, and in that time, she has served on the RWA Board of Directors as PRO Liaison and Region 3 Director. Milburn was instrumental in establishing RWA University, the association's education program, and currently serves as Assistant Chair of the Leadership Development Committee.


2013 RWA Steffie Walker Bookseller of the Year

Cathy Genna
Community Relations Manager, Barnes & Noble, East Brunswick, NJ

Cathy Genna is the Community Relations Manager at the East Brunswick, NJ, Barnes & Noble store. A dynamic and enthusiastic advocate for the romance genre, Genna made her store one of the best-selling stores for romance in her region. In addition, she hosts highly successful romance author programs, reader groups, and book signings.


2013 RWA Librarian of the Year

Sarah Whitten
Bangor Public Library, Bangor, ME

Sarah Whitten is a librarian at the Bangor Public Library in Bangor, ME. She's known to be the voice for romance fiction at her library, and she has presented the importance of romance in libraries at local and state library conferences as well as on e-mail listservs for librarians. She is the cofounder of a book group called The Not Your Ordinary Book Group, which serves as a romance book group for library patrons. Also, Whitten blogs about romances, making a significant online library presence supporting the romance genre.


2013 RWA Vivian Stephens Industry Award Recipient

Bette-Lee Fox
Managing Editor, Library Journal

Bette-Lee Fox is managing editor at Library Journal, and she edits the romance review column for their magazine. Fox is a strong and informed advocate for the romance genre, and she was integral to increasing the number of romance columns published each year by Library Journal by 50 percent. Not only did Lee increase romance coverage in Library Journal, but also she worked to incorporate reviews of romance e-books in the publication. 

2013 Academic Research Grant Recipient

An Goris
"Is There an Author in this Genre?" book project

An Goris was awarded the $5,000 academic research grant to support her book project, "Is There an Author in this Genre?" This book will examine the complete works of five contemporary romance authors and explore how the romance novelist contributes "to the institutional and paratextual evolutions of the romance genre" and in this process "takes on the characteristics of the individual 'author' . . . more traditionally associated with high literature and art." 

Jayashree Kamble
"Making Meaning in Romance: an Epistemology of Popular Romance Fiction"

RWA awarded partial funding to Jayashree Kamble's "Making Meaning in Romance: an Epistemology of Popular Romance Fiction." Kamble's work has the potential to advance and expand the study of the romance novel significantly by taking a cross-disciplinary approach and bringing "popular romance scholarship into dialogue with the broader field of cultural studies."  This work promises an "interpretation of both canonical romance authors . . . as well as a powerful approach to the interpretation of any romance novel."


2013 RWA Veritas Award Recipient

Did not grant a Veritas Award this year.


Congratulations to all the award recipients!

Recent Stories
2018 Election Results

September 17 Romance Bestsellers

September 10 Romance Bestsellers