RWA Announces 2014 Award Winners

Romance Writers of America Announces 2014 Award Winners

Romance Writers of America (RWA), the trade association for aspiring and published romance fiction authors, announced the winners for the 2014 RITA® and Golden Heart® Awards on July 26. The RITA—the highest award of distinction in romance fiction—recognizes excellence in published romance novels and novellas. The Golden Heart recognizes excellence in unpublished romance manuscripts.


2014 Golden Heart Winners

Short Contemporary Romance Winner

Sarah Cannon "Yesterday's Promise" by Sarah Cannon

Inspirational Romance Winner

Kristi Ann Hunter "My Lord Valet" by Kristi Ann Hunter

Contemporary Romance Winner

Suzanne Kaufman Kalb "Too Good to Be True" by Suzanne Kaufman Kalb

Historical Romance Winner

Lenora Bell "Charlene and the Duchess Factory" by Lenora Bell

Paranormal Romance Winner

Marni Folsom "Beyond the Fire" by Marni Folsom

Young Adult Romance Winner

McCall Hoyle "The Thing with Feathers" by McCall Hoyle

Romantic Suspense Winner

Denny S. Bryce "Chasing Damn" by Denny S. Bryce


2014 RITA Winners

Short Contemporary Romance Winner

Why Resist a Rebel? Leah Ashton Why Resist a Rebel? by Leah Ashton
Harlequin, KISS
Meg Lewis, editor

Historical Romance Winner

No Good Duke Goes Unpunished Sarah MacLean No Good Duke Goes Unpunished by Sarah MacLean
HarperCollins Publishers, Avon Books
Carrie Feron, editor

Romantic Suspense Winner

Off the Edge Carolyn Crane Off the Edge by Carolyn Crane

Romance Novella Winner

Take Me, Cowboy Jane Porter Take Me, Cowboy by Jane Porter
Tule Publishing, Montana Born Books
Tessa Shapcott, editor

Inspirational Romance Winner

Five Days in Skye Carla Laureano Five Days in Skye by Carla Laureano
David C. Cook
John Blase and Tonya Osterhouse, editors

Contemporary Romance Winner

Crazy Thing Called Love Molly O'Keefe Crazy Thing Called Love by Molly O'Keefe
Random House Group, Ballantine Bantam Dell
Shauna Summers, editor

Erotic Romance Winner

Claim Me J. Kenner Claim Me by J. Kenner
Random House Group, Bantam
Shauna Summers, editor

Paranormal Romance Winner

The Firebird
Susanna Kearsley The Firebird by Susanna Kearsley
Sourcebooks, Landmark
Deb Werksman, editor

Best First Book Winner

The Sweet Spot Laura Drake The Sweet Spot by Laura Drake
Grand Central Publishing, Forever
Latoya Smith, editor


Recent Stories
2018 Election Results

September 17 Romance Bestsellers

September 10 Romance Bestsellers