RUSA Announces Romance Reading List Titles

The Reference and User Services Association (RUSA), a division of the American Library Association, has unveiled its top picks, short lists and read-alikes for the 2013 Reading List. According to RUSA, the Reading List “annually recognizes the best books in eight genres: adrenaline (including suspense, thriller and adventure), fantasy, historical fiction, horror, mystery, romance, science fiction and women’s fiction. . . . Librarians can use the lists as resources for reader recommendations and collection development at their own libraries, or to build their personal to-be-read lists.”

The 2013 winner in the romance genre is Firelight by Kristen Callihan (an RWA member). Read-alikes: When Beauty Tamed the Beast by Eloisa James, Second Sight by Amanda Quick, and The Madness of Lord Ian MacKenzie by Jennifer Ashley. The short list: The Black Hawk by Joanna Bourne, At Your Pleasure by Meredith Duran, Lucky in Love by Jill Shalvis, and A Lady Awakened by Cecelia Grant. To view the entire RUSA list, visit

Congratulations to all the RWA members whose books made the RUSA Reading List!

Recent Stories

October 24 Romance Bestsellers

Frankfurt Book Fair: Days 3–5 Summary

Frankfurt Book Fair: Day 2 Summary