Call for Nominations: Chapter Excellence Award

Are you a General member who belongs to an RWA chapter that has gone above and beyond to serve its members in 2017? Have you attended a chapter-sponsored conference or event that made a huge impact on your career, the career of others, or the surrounding community? This is your chance to nominate a chapter for the recognition they deserve with the Chapter Excellence Award.



During the July 2016 board meeting, RWA’s Board of Directors approved a chapter-focused award that would recognize a chapter or chapters that go above and beyond to create excellent programming or events for their members. The award is named the Chapter Excellence Award.   

The Chapter Excellence Award may be presented each year to a chapter, or chapters working in concert, that exemplify excellence in any category including, but not limited to, extraordinary programming, community outreach, retention or membership drives, chapter promotion, industry engagement, professional development, or any other act in support of the chapter and genre. 



Any General member may nominate a chapter by providing a written statement listing the reasons the chapter deserves the award. The award will be given only for outstanding work by the chapter(s) that surpasses fundamental chapter advocacy and programming standards. The statement should be delivered via letter, fax or e-mail by February 1, 2018. 



Chapters must meet the following criteria to be eligible for the Chapter Excellence Award: 

  1. The chapter(s) must be in compliance with all RWA rules and regulations and be up to date on all chapter affiliation paperwork.
  2. The act, work, or programming that serves for the basis of the nomination must have occurred in the calendar year immediately prior to the nomination. 



A maximum of two awards may be granted annually: (1) one award for chapters of 50 members or fewer; and, (2) one award for chapters with 51 members and over. But in no event, is it required that an award be given out for either category (1) or (2) in any calendar year.

The Board will review all nominations at the first in-person board meeting of the calendar year and choose all winners. Chapter Excellence Award Winners will be published in the RWR and recognized at the RWA Conference with other award winners. 

If you have any questions, please contact Leslie Scantlebury at We hope everyone will take this opportunity to recognize a worthy chapter. 


Submission Information


Fax: 832-717-5201

Mail: Leslie Scantlebury, Romance Writers of America, 14615 Benfer Rd, Houston, TX  77069

1 Like
Recent Stories
RITA Judging Sign-up Now Open

October 15 Romance Bestsellers

RWA Alert: Rebel Press