RWA Announces 2016 RITA & Golden Heart Winners

Romance Writers of America (RWA) announced the winners of the 2016 RITA® and Golden Heart® Awards on July 16 at RWA2016 in San Diego, California.

The RITA—the highest award of distinction in romance fiction—recognizes excellence in published romance novels and novellas. The Golden Heart recognizes excellence in unpublished romance manuscripts.


2016 RITA Winners

Best First Book Winner

Forget Tomorrow Pintip Dunn Forget Tomorrow by Pintip Dunn
Entangled Publishing, Teen
Liz Pelletier, editor

Contemporary Romance: Long Winner

Brokedown Cowboy Maisey Yates

Brokedown Cowboy by Maisey Yates
Harlequin, HQN
Margo Lipschultz, editor


Contemporary Romance: Mid-Length Winner

Him Sarina Bowen Him by Sarina Bowen and Elle Kennedy
Edie Danford, editor
  Elle Kennedy

Contemporary Romance: Short Winner

The Nanny Plan Sarah M Anderson The Nanny Plan by Sarah M. Anderson
Harlequin, Desire
Stacy Boyd, editor

Erotic Romance Winner

For Real Alexis Hall For Real: A Spires Story by Alexis Hall
Riptide Publishing
Sarah Lyons, editor

Historical Romance: Long Winner

Tiffany Girl Deeanne Gist Tiffany Girl by Deeanne Gist
Simon & Schuster, Howard Books
Beth Adams, editor

Historical Romance: Short Winner

It Started With a Scandal Julie Anne Long It Started with a Scandal by Julie Anne Long
HarperCollins, Avon Books
May Chen, editor

Inspirational Romance Winner

A Noble Masquerade Kristi Ann Hunter A Noble Masquerade by Kristi Ann Hunter
Baker Publishing Group, Bethany House
Raela Schoenherr, editor

Paranormal Romance Winner

Must Love Chainmail Angela Quarles Must Love Chainmail by Angela Quarles
Erynn Newman and Jessa Slade, editors

Romance Novella Winner

Nice Girls Don't Ride Roni Loren Nice Girls Don’t Ride by Roni Loren
Penguin Random House, Berkley Intermix
Kate Seaver, editor

Romantic Suspense Winner

Flash Fire Dana Marton Flash Fire by Dana Marton

Young Adult Romance Winner

The Anatomical Shape of a Heart Jenn Bennett The Anatomical Shape of a Heart by Jenn Bennett
Macmillan, Feiwel & Friends
Anna Roberto, editor



2016 Golden Heart Winners

Contemporary Romance Winner

Gabrielle Luthy “Shelter Me” by Gabrielle Luthy

Historical Romance Winner

Elizabeth King “The Earl and the Pussycat” by Elizabeth King

Inspirational Romance Winner

Kimberly MacCarron “For the Love of Termites” by Kimberly MacCarron

Paranormal Romance Winner

Tara Sheets “Don’t Call Me Cupcake” by Tara Sheets

Romantic Suspense Winner

Tracy Brody “In the Wrong Sights” by Tracy Brody

Short Contemporary Romance Winner

Carrie Nichols  “Rescuing Riley” by Carrie Nichols

Young Adult Romance Winner

Meg Kassel “The Beekeeper” by Meg Kassel
1 Like
Recent Stories
RITA Judging Sign-up Now Open

October 15 Romance Bestsellers

RWA Alert: Rebel Press