PRO Mentor of the Year

Since 2004, RWA's PRO community has proudly recognized authors from the Published Authors Network (PAN) who go the extra mile to aid PRO writers in their quest for publication.  

The PRO Mentor of the Year is awarded to a member of RWA PAN who has acted as a trusted adviser, counselor, teacher or other criteria as might be determined beneficial to PRO members by the PRO Steering committee.  The award may not be presented every year if no candidate is clearly identified as meeting the level of excellence established by past recipients of the award.

The nominating period for PRO Mentor of the Year begins March 1, 2018. To learn more about the PRO Mentor of the Year, visit the PRO Community.


Submit Nomination


2017 RWA PRO Mentor of the Year

Maggie Marr

Maggie Marr  

The 2017 PRO Steering committee is pleased to announce the 2017 PRO Mentor of the Year, Maggie Marr. Maggie Marr is the author of twenty-plus books including the best-selling Hollywood Girls Club series. She is the past president of Los Angeles Romance Authors (LARA) and legal advisor to WFWA. When she isn’t writing, reading, practicing law, or chasing her kids, you can find her binge watching her favorite shows.

According to Susannah Erwin, "As a leader in the Los Angeles Romance Authors RWA chapter, Maggie spearheaded several programs designed to help general members become PRO and PRO members to become PAN. The PRO members have benefited greatly from opportunities to contribute to chapter romance anthologies, matching published authors with unpublished authors in a one-on-one mentoring relationship, creating before-meeting events such as the Published Author Chat (designed to lift everyone but especially to help the PRO members who may not be PAN eligible yet), and the Write-In to encourage all of us to get words on paper. Maggie gives unstintingly of her time, her professional advice, and her valuable insight to PRO members."

You can find out more about Maggie’s writing on her website,, or join her on Facebook at or on Twitter at @maggiemarr.


Past PRO Mentors of the Year

  • 2016: Angi Morgan
  • 2015: Carla Swafford
  • 2014: Donna MacMeans
  • 2013: Eliza Knight
  • 2012: Deborah Cooke
  • 2011: Cherry Adair
  • 2010: HelenKay Dimon
  • 2009: Candace Havens
  • 2008: Karin Tabke
  • 2007: Jo Beverley
  • 2006: JoAnn Ross
  • 2005: Jennifer Crusie
  • 2004: Vicki Hinze