Hall of Fame

RWA's Hall of Fame recognizes authors whose works have been consistently recognized by their peers.  Upon receipt of her/his third (formerly the fourth) RITA Award in the same category, an RWA member is inducted into the RWA Hall of Fame for that category.

RWA's RITA Award is the highest honor in romance publishing. RITA Award winners are determined by the toughest judges in existence—an author's fellow romance authors. For an author to win more than one RITA during her career is rare. For those outstanding authors who win multiple RITAs, RWA needed a special way to honor them, so we created the RWA Hall of Fame.

Romance Writers of America proudly presents our Hall of Fame recipients

Jo Beverley

Regency Romance

Qualifying Novels:
Emily and the Dark Angel (1992)
An Unwilling Bride (1993)
Deirdre and Don Juan (1994)

Kresley Cole

Paranormal Romance

Qualifying Novels:
A Hunger Like No Other (2007)
Kiss of a Demon King (2010)
Shadow's Claim (2013)

Kathleen Creighton

Contemporary Series Romance

Qualifying Novels:
In the Defense of Love (1988)
The Top Gun's Return (2004)
Danger Signals (2009)

Justine Dare

Paranormal Romance

Qualifying Novels:
Angel for Hire (1991; as Justine Davis)
Lord of the Storm (1995)
Fire Hawk (1998)

Jennifer Greene

Short Contemporary Series Romance

Qualifying Novels:
Night of the Hunter (1990)
Single Dad (1996)
Nobody's Princess (1998)

Irene Hannon

Inspirational Romance

Qualifying Novels:
Never Say Goodbye (2003)
In Harm's Way (2011)
Deceived (2015)

Kathleen Korbel

Long Contemporary Romance

Qualifying Novels:
The Ice Cream Man (1990)
A Rose for Maggie (1992)
A Soldier's Heart (1995)

Barbara O'Neal

Novel with Strong Romantic Elements

Qualifying Novels:
Lady Luck's Map of Vegas (2006)
The Lost Recipe for Happiness (2010)
How to Bake a Perfect Life (2012)

Susan Elizabeth Phillips

Contemporary Single Title

Qualifying Novels:
Nobody's Baby But Mine (1998)
Dream a Little Dream (1999)
First Lady (2001)

Julia Quinn

Regency Historical Romance

Qualifying Novels:
On the Way to the Wedding (2007)
The Secret Diaries of Miss Miranda Cheever (2008)
What Happens in London (2010)

Francine Rivers

Inspirational Romance

Qualifying Novels:
An Echo In the Darkness (1995)
As Sure As the Dawn (1996)
The Scarlet Thread (1997)

Nora Roberts

Contemporary Single Title Romance

Qualifying Novels:
Public Secrets (1991)
Private Scandals (1994)
Born in Ice (1996)


Nora Roberts

Long Contemporary Romance

Qualifying Novels:
The Heart's Victory (1983)
This Magic Moment (1984)
A Matter of Choice (1985)
One Summer (1987)

Nora Roberts

Romantic Suspense

Qualifying Novels:
Brazen Virtue (1989)
Night Shift (1992)
Divine Evil (1993)
Nightshade (1994)

LaVyrle Spencer

Single Title Historical Romance

Qualifying Novels:
The Endearment (1983)
Hummingbird (1984)
Twice Loved (1985)
The Gamble (1988)

Karen Templeton

Contemporary Series Romance

Qualifying Novels:
A Mother's Wish (2009)
Welcome Home, Cowboy (2011)
A Gift for All Seasons (2013)

Jodi Thomas

Short Historical Romance

Qualifying Novels:
The Tender Texan (1992)
To Tame a Texan's Heart (1995)
The Texan's Reward (2006)

Cheryl Zach

Young Adult Romance

Qualifying Novels:
The Frog Princess (1985)
Waiting for Amanda (1986)
Runaway (1996)