The RITA recognized excellence in published romance novels and novellas and was retired in 2020.

We would like to express our heartfelt gratitude to Rita Clay Estrada, RWA's first president, for honoring us the past 30 years as the award's namesake and for her service to RWA and romance authors everywhere.

Past Winners

View past winners of the RITA Award

Hall of Fame

Multi-RITA winners